Gallaudet Athletic Council

GAC meeting group photo


This Advisory Council will provide guidance to the Athletics Department at Gallaudet University. While not a regulatory body, the Council is responsible for sharing ideas, making recommendations for improvement, reviewing policy for regulation, and providing advice on general operations of the athletics department at Gallaudet University.


GAC meetings will take place twice a year in November and April. The core members of the council shall convene the month prior in October and March to plan the agenda.

The membership of the GAC shall consist of the Gallaudet University President, Provost, Dean of Student Affairs, Athletic Director, Assistant Athletic Director, Senior Woman Administrator, Sports Information Director, Faculty Athletic Representative, Student-Athlete Advisory Committee President, two undergraduate student-athletes (one male, one female), two Gallaudet faculty members, two Gallaudet staff members, two Gallaudet alumni and two coaches (one men's team coach, one women's team coach).

The core members of the GAC consist of the Athletic Director, Assistant Athletic Director, Faculty Athletic Representative, Senior Woman Administrator, Sports Information Director and the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee President.

2017-18 GAC Members

President - Roberta "Bobbi" Cordano
Provost - Dr. Carol Erting
Dean of Student Affairs - Dwight Benedict
Athletic Director - Michael Weinstock
Associate Athletic Director for Communications - Sam Atkinson
Assistant Athletic Director - Lynn Ray Boren
Senior Woman Administrator - Anna Hall
Faculty Athletic Representative - Brendan Stern
Coaches - Kevin Kovacs (Men's Basketball), Liza Offreda (Women's Soccer)
Student-Athlete Advisory Committee President - Sabina Shysh (Women's Basketball, Soccer, Track & Field)
Student-Athletes - Darriyan Thomas (Softball, Women's Volleyball), Matthew Sherman (Men's Basketball)
Faculty Member - Caroline Solomon, Reed Gershwind
Staff Members - Katherine Spiegel, David Tossman
Alumni - Beth Hortie, David Letkiewicz

Also see: